Australia revealed their 15-man squad for T20 World Cup 2024 with major players like Steve Smith, Jake Fraser-McGurk snubbed.

Australia’s squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup has been revealed, with some surprising omissions. Veteran batter Steve Smith, young talent Jake Fraser-McGurk, experienced bowler Jason Behrendorff, and all-rounder Matt Short are all notable absentees.

The 2023 World Cup champions raised eyebrows with their selections for the tournament. Left-arm spinner Ashton Agar returns to the T20I scene after a long absence, last playing in the 2022 World Cup held in Australia. All-rounders Marcus Stoinis and Cameron Green secured spots despite inconsistent performances in the Indian Premier League.

Mitchell Marsh will captain the side, with National Selector George Bailey expressing full faith in the squad’s balance. “This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents,” Bailey said, as quoted by the ICC.

Bailey emphasized the squad’s experience and adaptability, highlighting the importance of players like Agar, Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, and Marsh. According to him, these players will complement the team’s main bowlers and offer strategic flexibility based on conditions and opponents.

ALSO READ | Ellyse Perry Applauds Meg Lanning’s Bravery in Revealing Her Struggle With Eating Disorder

“We will continue monitoring several players who have missed out on this preliminary squad and note that if we need to change this squad, we have the option to do so over the coming month in accordance with ICC regulations. Ultimately, the balance of the final 15 needs to provide the best chance of being successful in this campaign,” Bailey concluded.

Australia’s campaign begins against Oman in Barbados on June 5th, followed by matches against England, Namibia, and Scotland in Group B.

Australia 15-man squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.



100% Bonus up to ₹20,000
  • UPI / Netbanking
  • Cricket Betting
  • Great Promotions


100% Bonus on the 1st deposit up to ₹8,000
  • Weekly sports bonus
  • Cash races
  • Bitcoin bonuses


Get Up To 8500₹
  • IPL
  • Daily No Risk Bet For IPL
  • Get Up To 8500₹
Cricket Offers4


100% Bonus Up To 11,000 INR
  • Cricket Markets
  • Android App
  • Live Streaming


700% UP TO 90,000₹
  • Live Betting
  • Cricket Betting
  • Live Casino


Get 150% Up To ₹20,000
  • Cricket
  • Fast Payouts
  • Mobile App


INR 20,000 in Bonus
  • Generous Bonus & Promotions
  • Secure Payment Methods
  • Live Betting

Last Updated on May 1, 2024