India asserted their dominance with a 160-run victory over the Netherlands, concluding the group stage unbeaten, in the match held at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on November 12th.

In another clinical performance, India secured a commanding 160-run victory over the Netherlands in a World Cup encounter in Bengaluru. Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul’s centuries propelled India to a formidable total of 410/4 after batting first.

The opening partnership of Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill set the tone with a 100-run stand, with Gill contributing 51(32) before his dismissal in the 12th over. Rohit Sharma added 61(54) before being dismissed by Bas de Leede. Virat Kohli’s impactful 51 and a strong finish by Rahul (102 off 64) and Iyer (128* off 94) ensured India’s dominance. The Netherlands only managed 250 in 47.5 overs in response.

After Mohammed Siraj provided India with an early breakthrough in the second innings, Colin Ackermann and Max O’Dowd steered the Netherlands to a recovery, forming a 50-plus partnership for the second wicket and reaching 62/1 after the first powerplay. Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Ackermann for 35(32), followed by Ravindra Jadeja’s removal of O’Dowd for 30(42).

Virat Kohli, breaking a nine-year wicket drought in ODIs, sent Scott Edwards packing. India maintained consistent pressure, making breakthroughs at regular intervals, ultimately wrapping up the Netherlands’ innings in 47.5 overs.

Last Updated on November 12, 2023

Senior Sports Copywriter