In the T20 World Cup Super Eight match at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St. Lucia, India defeated Australia by 24 runs to secure a semifinal spot. Australia won the toss and chose to bowl first. Skipper Rohit Sharma came out aggressively, scoring 28 of the 29 runs in the third over bowled by Mitchell Starc. Despite a brief rain break, Rohit continued his assault, reaching a 19-ball half-century.

READ ALSO | T20 World Cup 2024 | Rohit Sharma Sets Two World Records After Explosive 92-Run Knock Against Australia

Rohit was eventually dismissed by Starc for 92 off 41 balls, hitting eight sixes and seven fours. Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, and Hardik Pandya carried on the attack, though Australia managed to slow the scoring between the 15th and 19th overs. India’s total reached 205/5 in 20 overs, thanks to Rohit’s explosive innings and contributions from the middle order.

In response, despite losing David Warner early to Arshdeep Singh in the first over, Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh stabilized Australia’s innings. The pair utilized the Powerplay effectively, forming an 81-run partnership in just 48 balls. Marsh was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav in the ninth over, thanks to a spectacular catch by Axar Patel.

Glenn Maxwell then came in with positive intent, playing a quick cameo before falling to Kuldeep. Marcus Stoinis also failed to make a significant impact. Head continued to score at a good rate, keeping Australia in the chase. However, with the asking rate climbing, he was dismissed for 76 off 43 balls by Jasprit Bumrah in the 17th over.

India’s bowlers, particularly Kuldeep and Axar, managed to control the middle overs, leading to Australia’s eventual downfall. Despite a spirited effort, Australia finished short of the target.

The win places India in the semifinals, while Australia’s net run rate remains above Afghanistan’s. Australia’s future in the tournament depends on the outcome of the Afghanistan vs. Bangladesh match. If Afghanistan wins, Australia will be knocked out of the tournament.

Last Updated on June 24, 2024

Senior Sports Copywriter