India, the host nation, unveiled their 15-member squad for the impending ODI World Cup, capturing the anticipation of cricket enthusiasts during the much-awaited press conference featuring Rohit Sharma and Ajit Agarkar.

In the revelation made by BCCI’s chairman of selectors, Ajit Agarkar, India’s World Cup 2023 squad features KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar Yadav. Notably, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravichandran Ashwin missed out on selection. The announcement came just one month before the tournament’s kickoff, bucking the trend of early squad disclosures by most other cricket boards.

Ishan Kishan’s standout middle-order performance, particularly his impressive 81-run inning against Pakistan, has clinched him the role of the second wicketkeeper in the squad. As a result, Sanju Samson, currently serving as a reserve with the Indian team in Sri Lanka, did not make it to the World Cup roster.

Notably, Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna, part of the Asia Cup squad in Sri Lanka, also missed out on securing spots in the final World Cup selection.

KL Rahul is poised to stage a remarkable comeback to the Indian cricket scene after receiving clearance from the National Cricket Academy (NCA) post his successful thigh surgery. His recovery has been closely supervised by NCA trainers and team management during an intensive rehabilitation program in Bengaluru.

Experienced opener Rohit Sharma will helm the Indian team as captain, bringing his seasoned leadership to the forefront. The addition of Ishan Kishan is an attempt to enhance the squad’s batting depth, alongside stalwarts like Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav, forming a formidable batting lineup.

The team showcases an abundance of all-round talent, featuring Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Shardul Thakur, bolstering the batting prowess further.

In the bowling department, the pace will be spearheaded by Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj, while Kuldeep Yadav will take charge of spin duties. This potent lineup hopes to reaffirm India’s aspirations for World Cup success.

India’s ICC World Cup 2023 Squad

Rohit Sharma(C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Last Updated on September 5, 2023

Senior Sports Copywriter