In the IPL 2024 clash between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, DC won the toss and elected to field first under the leadership of Rishabh Pant. In the first innings, former MI captain Rohit Sharma reached a milestone of 1,000 runs against DC but fell short of his half-century, bowled by Axar Patel for 49 runs off 24 balls. Anrich Nortje dismissed Suryakumar Yadav, making a strong comeback at the Wankhede Stadium.

Despite a promising start by MI openers, Axar Patel’s stunning catch removed Ishan Kishan for 42 runs. Hardik Pandya contributed 39 runs off 33 balls, while Tim David (45 off 21 balls) and Romario Shepherd’s explosive batting in the final overpowered MI to a formidable total of 234-5. Shepherd’s remarkable six-hitting display, adding 32 runs in the last over bowled by Nortje, significantly boosted MI’s score.

In the second innings, Tristan Stubbs nearly turned the tables for Delhi, but Mumbai always held the upper hand with a hefty total on the board. Mumbai’s pacers set the tone early, stifling the opposition’s scoring opportunities and removing key batsmen like David Warner.

Despite facing resistance in a solid partnership, Jasprit Bumrah’s crucial breakthrough by dismantling Prithvi Shaw’s stumps swung the momentum back in Mumbai’s favor. While they conceded some boundaries, Mumbai’s ability to consistently take wickets was pivotal. Bumrah’s economical spell of 2 for 22 turned the tide, while Gerald Coetzee’s three wickets in the final over sealed Mumbai’s victory by 29 runs, leaving the team with a palpable sense of relief for opening their account.

Last Updated on April 7, 2024

Senior Sports Copywriter