Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets in a dominant performance to win their third Indian T20 League Trophy at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai.

In a surprising turn of events at the IPL Final in Chepauk, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), known for their powerful batting lineup, suffered a humiliating collapse, recording the lowest-ever total in IPL Final history with just 113 runs.

Winning the toss and choosing to bat first, SRH’s downfall began early as Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) bowlers Mitchell Starc and Harshit Arora struck in the opening overs, dismissing Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma. The SRH batting lineup crumbled under the relentless pressure from KKR’s pacers, including Starc, Rana, and Russell, who consistently took wickets.

Aiden Markram valiantly tried to steady the ship for SRH, but the wickets continued to fall. In a desperate bid to reach a respectable score, SRH’s skipper Pat Cummins showed resistance, but it was too little, too late. SRH were bowled out in the 19th over, leaving them with a paltry 113 runs on the board. The KKR bowlers’ dominance throughout the innings ensured a disastrous end to SRH’s hopes in the final.

Kolkata Knight Riders needed just 114 runs to win and despite losing Sunil Narine early, Rahmanullah Gurbaz hit a few boundaries before Venkatesh Iyer took charge, punishing the Hyderabad bowlers. Kolkata showed no signs of pressure, rounding off a fine season by finishing at the top of the group table and winning the final convincingly. KKR chased down the target with 57 balls to spare, thanks to Venkatesh Iyerโ€™s blistering 52 off 26 balls. Venkatesh ended unbeaten alongside the KKR skipper, Shreyas Iyer.


Last Updated on May 26, 2024

Senior Sports Copywriter