Punjab Kings, led by skipper Jitesh Sharma, won the toss and opted to bat first against Pat Cummins’ Sunrisers Hyderabad. Prabhsimran Singh and Atharva Taide opened the innings for PBKS and got off to a solid start, scoring 61 runs in the powerplay. Taide played aggressively, scoring a quick 46 off 27 balls before being dismissed by T Natarajan. Rilee Rossouw, coming in at number 3, continued the attack, while Prabhsimran played a crucial innings, hitting 71 runs off 45 balls before being caught by Heinrich Klaasen.

Rossouw also fell just short of his half-century, departing for 49 runs, and Ashutosh Sharma was dismissed cheaply by Natarajan. However, Jitesh Sharma provided a late flourish, smashing an unbeaten 32 off just 15 balls to propel PBKS to a competitive total of 214.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s batting lineup came through when it mattered, securing a crucial victory in the IPL 2024 with a nail-biting win over Punjab Kings.

Punjab Kings started the second innings with a high, dismissing Travis Head for a golden duck. However, Abhishek Sharma swiftly took charge, blazing his way to 66 runs off just 28 balls, filling in admirably. The upper-middle order of Sunrisers Hyderabad also made significant contributions, with Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, and the South African batsman Heinrich Klaasen all playing aggressive innings.

Despite Punjab Kings managing to keep it competitive with timely wickets and disciplined bowling towards the end, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s confidence never wavered. They clinched a hard-fought 5-wicket victory, securing a second-place finish in the IPL 2024 standings.

Last Updated on May 19, 2024

Senior Sports Copywriter