West Indies revealed the new Central Contract roster for the 2023-24 season, but three players opted out of the offers based on their performances reviewed from 2022 to 2023.

West Indies revealed their updated Central Contract roster for the 2023-24 season, acknowledging newcomers Gudakesh Motie, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, and Alick Athanaze among the Men’s list, alongside Zaida James and Sheneta Grimmond in the Women’s list, based on their performances from 2022 to 2023.

Notably absent from the roster were experienced players Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, and Nicholas Pooran, who declined central contracts but committed to West Indies T20 Internationals, potentially aiming for inclusion in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad. Both Holder and Pooran, former West Indies captains, maintained availability for the T20 format despite opting out of the central contracts.

In anticipation of co-hosting the upcoming tournament with the USA, West Indies Men’s Lead Selector, Dr. Desmond Haynes, emphasized extensive discussions with coaches to define the team’s cricket approach across all formats for the busy year ahead. Additionally, Haynes highlighted crucial Test Series in Australia and England, alongside efforts to establish a core group of players for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2027, outlining West Indies’ comprehensive cricket roadmap for the forthcoming period.

West Indies Women’s Lead Selector, Ann Browne-John, focused on nurturing a group of players essential for the future of West Indies cricket.With upcoming high-profile bilateral series and significant global events in sight, the priority remains preparing the players thoroughly, ensuring they are well-equipped for any challenge that comes their way.

“The selectors have identified a cadre of players who we believe can drive West Indies cricket forward. We have emphasized the development of the younger players, which we view as pivotal in the pathway to the international level,” Browne-John said.

List of players:

West Indies Men: Alick Athanaze, Kraigg Brathwaite, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Joshua Da Silva, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, and Romario Shepherd.

West Indies Women: Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, and Rashada Williams.

Last Updated on December 11, 2023

Senior Sports Copywriter