Delhi Capitals won the toss and chose to bat first against KKR, managing to score 153/9 in their allotted 20 overs. Their innings got off to a rocky start as opener Prithvi Shaw fell early to Vaibhav Arora for 13, followed by Jake Fraser-McGurk’s dismissal by Mitchell Starc for 12, thanks to a brilliant catch by Venkatesh Iyer. Vaibhav Arora claimed his second victim by removing Shai Hope for 6, while Harshit Rana dismissed Abhisek Porel after a promising start of 18 off 15 balls.

Varun Chakaravarthy further dented DC’s batting lineup by dismissing Rishabh Pant for 27 and Tristan Stubbs for 4. Sunil Narine accounted for Axar Patel for 15, leaving DC struggling. Chakaravarthy then clinched his third wicket by dismissing Kumar Kushagra for 1, and Harshit Rana and Rasikh Salam also chipped in with wickets. Despite Kuldeep Yadav’s unbeaten 35*, DC finished at 153/9, setting a target of 154 runs for the opposition.

KKR’s win, with 7 wickets and 21 balls to spare, highlighted their resurgence after a tough match previously. Currently positioned second on the points table, they chased down the 154-run target effortlessly.

Phil Salt and Sunil Narine’s explosive partnership set the tone, scoring 79 runs in just 6 overs. Despite Narine’s dismissal, Rinku Singh’s brief stint couldn’t match the initial momentum. However, skipper Shreyas Iyer and Venkatesh Iyer calmly steered KKR to victory, smoothly finishing off the remaining runs.

Last Updated on April 29, 2024

Senior Sports Copywriter