In their home fixture at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Super Kings faced off against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Opting to bat first, CSK, led by Ruturaj Gaikwad, started cautiously, amassing 50 runs in the initial six overs. Ajinkya Rahane, retaining his spot in the starting XI, fell early to Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s bowling.

However, Gaikwad’s blistering innings turned the tide for CSK. His 98 off just 54 balls propelled the team to a challenging total. Gaikwad’s departure in the final over brought Dhoni to the crease. Although his stay was brief, Dhoni, along with Shivam Dube’s explosive 39 off 20 balls, guided CSK to a formidable total of 212-3 in their allotted 20 overs.

SRH’s Powerplay woes persisted as Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma departed early. An attempt to stabilize by Anmolpreet Singh failed, followed by a brief partnership between Aiden Markram and Nitish Kumar Reddy. However, the middle-order collapse dashed their hopes. Unable to cope with the mounting pressure, they were bundled out in the 19th over, falling short by a 78-run margin.

Chennai’s bowlers dominated from the start, with Tushar Deshpande making key breakthroughs by dismissing Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma. Deepak Chahar maintained the pressure with economical bowling. Ravindra Jadeja contributed with a wicket, while Matheesha Pathirana showcased his death bowling skills, removing both Aiden Markram and Nitish Kumar Reddy. Shardul Thakur chipped in with a wicket too.

Deshpande impressed with a four-wicket haul, while Pathirana claimed two. Daryl Mitchell’s exceptional fielding saw him take five catches, contributing significantly to Hyderabad’s downfall.

Last Updated on April 28, 2024

Senior Sports Copywriter