Mitch Marsh has been entrusted with captaincy duties for Australia’s upcoming T20 internationals in South Africa, leading a squad infused with a fresh Big Bash influence.

As a precursor to the World Cup, five ODIs will follow, introducing an 18-man preliminary roster. The T20 lineup boasts a new wave of talent, with only five players retaining their positions from last November’s XI: Marsh, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, and Adam Zampa.

While Marsh takes the reins temporarily, Cricket Australia has yet to finalize a permanent successor to the retired Aaron Finch, who played his final T20I in October.

With prior captaincy stints at Perth Scorchers and Western Australia, the 31-year-old all-rounder holds a wealth of leadership experience. George Bailey, the head of selection, expressed, “Mitch has long been a senior player within the white-ball structure, with this an opportunity for him to add to his leadership skills at international level. We look forward to him taking that step in South Africa.”

Marsh’s career rejuvenation in the T20 format coincided with standout performances on West Indies and Bangladesh tours, leading to his pivotal role at the 2021 World Cup where he clinched the player-of-the-match award in the final through a match-winning unbeaten 77 from 50 deliveries.

2023 Qantas Tour of South Africa

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

August 30: First T20I, Durban (August 31, 2 am AEST)

September 1: Second T20I, Durban (September 2, 2 am AEST)

September 3: Third T20I, Durban, September 3, 10 pm AEST

2023 Tour of South Africa, India and Preliminary World Cup Squad

Australia ODI squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

September 7: First ODI, Bloemfontein (D/N), 9 pm AEST

September 9: Second ODI, Bloemfontein (D/N), 9 pm AEST

September 12: Third ODI, Potchefstroom (D/N), 9 pm AEST

September 15: Fourth ODI, Centurion (D/N), 9 pm AEST

September 17: Fifth ODI, Johannesburg, 6 pm AEST

Last Updated on August 7, 2023

Senior Sports Copywriter