Yuzvendra Chahal inadvertently took the field during the first T20I between West Indies and India on August 3, initially heading towards the dressing room before umpires intervened, enforcing his return to bat at No.10 in accordance with Law 25.2.

In a gripping start to the five-match T20I series at Trinidad’s Brian Lara Stadium, West Indies clinched victory, edging out India by a mere four runs in a tense, low-scoring contest. Opting to bat first, the hosts posted 149 runs, anchored by Pooran’s 41 and Powell’s 48. Despite a promising start by debutant Tilak Varma (39 off 22), India stumbled as wickets tumbled, leaving them needing 10 off the final over with Kuldeep Yadav and Arshdeep Singh at the crease.

As Romario Shepherd dismantled Kuldeep’s stumps on the very first ball, Yuzvendra Chahal strode out at No.10, bypassing debutant Mukesh Kumar. Chahal had advanced toward the crease when a message from substitute Umran Malik swiftly redirected him back to the dressing room.

The Indian team’s intention to send Mukesh out at No.10 became evident as Chahal approached the boundary ropes, but the umpires intervened, citing Law 25.2 which defines the start of an innings for a batter. Chahal’s presence on the field signified the commencement of his innings, barring India from substituting him for another batter without retiring him, as per the rule.

Chahal managed singles on both his first and final deliveries, while Mukesh entered at No.11 to confront the innings’ concluding ball, securing just a single from Shepherd’s impeccable yorker in the pursuit of six runs.

Last Updated on August 4, 2023

Senior Sports Copywriter