The Sunrisers Hyderabad surprised every one by letting go their skipper and most Valuable Player, David Warner. Sunrisers Hyderabad also failed to retain their best or probably the world’s number 1 bowler, Rashid Khan. The franchise has trusted the leadership of Kane Williamson as he was retained by the franchise alongside Umran Malik and Abdul Samad. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad has done a good job in the mega auction of IPL 2022. They have focused to build a strong playing 11 and some of the star players that Hyderabad has bought include Nicholas Pooran, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Romario Shephard, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, and Aiden Markram.

The squad is quite balanced and they will be hoping to lift their second title under the captaincy of Kane Williamson.

SRH Complete Squad

Aiden Markram, Kane Williamson (C), Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Ravikumar Samarth, Nicholas Pooran (WK) & Vishnu Vinod (WK), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Kartik Tyagi, Saurabh Dubey, T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Jagadeesha Suchith, Shreyas Gopal, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Glenn Philips, Marco Jansen, Romario Shephard, Sean Abbott, Shashank Singh, and Washington Sundar

Openers: Abhishek Sharma and Kane Williamson 

Sunrisers Hyderabad has a strong opening pair in the form of Warner and Bairstow last year but they don’t have that firepower this year. The first question that SRH management shall face is whom to open with. Skipper Kane Williamson is likely to open the innings alongside Abhishek Sharma. They also have two more opening options like Rahul Tripathi and Aiden Markram. The talented Abhishek is a strong attacking batter and can prove a valuable asset in the powerplay overs. 

Kana Williamson is a world-class batter and his presence will strengthen the top order. He might is not a big hitter of the ball but he plays with a good strike rate. He will play the anchoring role in the batting lineup of Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

Middle-order: Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram & Nicholas Pooran (WK)

Sunrisers Hyderabad has a completely different middle-order this time but it is also much stronger than the previous one. Rahul Tripathi will bat at 3 followed by the excellent pair of Aiden Markram and Nicholas Pooran. Rahul Tripathi is an excellent choice for the one-down position and he can carry the good start provided by the openers. 

Aiden Markram is a very useful player who can bat at any number. Markram is an aggressive player and the runs will come at a quick pace in his presence while Nicholas Pooran is the best player for the number 5 spot. Pooran can bat according to any condition. He can change the match situation with his outstanding power-hitting ability in the death overs. 

All-rounders; Samad, Shephard, and Sundar

Sunrisers Hyderabad always has quality all-rounders in their lineup and once again the franchise has managed to buy some good all-rounders in the mega auction. Abdul Samad and Romario Shephard will provide firepower in the death overs. Both of these can hit the ball out of the park especially Romario Shephard who is a very clean hitter of the ball. 

Washington Sundar will lead the spin department and his batting ability will increase the batting depth of Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

Bowlers: Kartik Tyagi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar & T Natarajan

The pace battery of SRH is looking very strong with the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kartik Tyagi, and T Natarajan which means they are relying on the Indian pacers. Bhuvneshwar will focus on both powerplay and death overs while the young and promising Kartik Tyagi will prove more lethal in the powerplay and middle overs. Whereas T Natarajan can implement his yorkers in the middle and death overs. 

Last Updated on April 3, 2022

Senior Sports Copywriter